Stanley Cup 2016: Sharks vs Penguins

After some great action in the semifinals, we can now look forward to an exciting final series in the 2016 Stanley Cup. The two teams that are contesting for the cup are Pittsburgh Penguins and San Jose Sharks. Penguins has won Stanley Cup three times; during the dynasty years 1991 and 1992, and in 2009 when captain Sidney Crosby and his young Russian partner Evgeni Malkin led their team to victory. Sharks was founded in 1991 and has never won a Stanley Cup. During the years they have made excellent performances in the league, but failed to convert that into success in the play offs. Now they have finally reached their first Stanley Cup final!

Road to the 2016 Stanley Cup Finals

Penguins finished second in the Metropolitan division, behind Washington Capitals. They eliminated New York Rangers in the round of 16 (4-1), Washington in the quarterfinals (4-2) and finally, last years finalist Tampa Bay Lighting in the semifinal (4-3). Pittsburgh won the deciding game seven 2-1.

Sharks finished third in the Pacific division, behind Anaheim Ducks and Los Angeles Kings. In the play offs they eliminated Kings (4-1), Nashville Predators (4-3) and finally St Louis Blues (4-2).

So what we have is one team that have experienced the taste of victory before, against a team full of hungry sharks that wants a bite. Chances are though, that experience will matter in the final series so we put our hard-earned money on Pittsburgh Penguins. However, we hope for a tight and exciting final series in the 2016 Stanley Cup Finals! As we all know, when the puck drops, history will be made.

There are four Swedes playing the final:

Melker Karlsson, center, San Jose Sharks
Carl Hagelin, forward, Pittsburgh Penguins
Patric Hörnqvist, forward, Pittsburg Penguins
Oscar Sundqvist, center, Pittsburgh Penguins

Prior Stanley Cup winners (2000-)

2015 – Chicago Blackhawks
2014 – Los Angeles Kings
2013 – Chicago Blackhawks
2012 – Los Angeles Kings
2011 – Boston Bruins
2010 – Chicago Blackhawks
2009 – Pittsburgh Penguins
2008 – Detroit Red Wings
2007 – Anaheim Ducks
2006 – Carolina Hurricanes
(2005 – Lockout)
2004 – Tampa Bay Lightning
2003 – New Jersey Devils
2002 – Detroit Red Wings
2001 – Colorado Avalanche
2000 – New Jersey Devils

Tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.