Olympic Hockey 2018 format


The men’s Olympic Hockey tournament in PyeongChang, South Korea 2018 follows a format of three groups with four teams in each group. The group winners and the best placed runner-up will advance to the quarter finals, while the other two runner-ups will play a qualification game for the last spot in the play-offs. In this post you will find the groups, dates for playoffs and Team Sweden’s schedule. In Sochi 2014, Sweden lost the final game against Team Canada. Finland won the bronze medal against Team USA.

Groups, Olympic Hockey 2018

Group A:

Canada (current champions)
Czech Republic
South Korea

Prediction: Although NHL-players aren’t participating in the 2018 Olympic Hockey Tournament, Canada will still have a strong team with players from the European leagues. We believe they will have a good chance of winning group A, but we would also like to issue a warning for Switzerland that is usually a strong team in the Olympics.

Group B:

United States

Prediction: Russia has a strong core of players from the KHL and they are predicted by many to go all the way in this tournament. We agree. No miracle on ice for Team USA this year.

Group C:


Prediction: Three Nordic teams and Germany are fighting for the win in this group. Although Sweden and Finland might be favourites, nothing is certain in this context. Norway will do anything to beat their Nordic rivals, and Germany has a strong team with players from their domestic league. We think Sweden will come out on top from this group though.

Sweden’s games

February 15: Norway – Sweden
February 16: Sweden – Germany
February 18: Sweden – Finland


February 20: Qualification for quarterfinals
February 21: Quarterfinals
February 23: Semifinals
February 24: Bronze game
February 25: Final game

The 2018 Olympic games are hosted in PyeongChang, South Korea between February 9-25. As always, we look forward to exciting competitions in our favourite winter sports!

We remember: The 2006 Olympic Hockey Tournament in Torino, Italy

Team Sweden

February 15-26, as a part of the XX Olympic Winter Games, the men’s hockey tournament was held in Torino, Italy. For the third time since 1998, players from the National Hockey League (NHL) were allowed to participate. This meant that the nations could put the best team available on the ice and that the winner could name themselves as the greatest hockey nation of the year. This can be put in perspective of the World Championships in which the best players usually are playing in the play offs in the NHL.

Prior Olympic Hockey tournaments

In the 1998 Winter Games in Nagano, Japan, a strong Czech Republic team, with players like Dominik Hasek, came out strong. In fact, they had a short dynasty going on at this time with several golds in both the World Championships as well as in the 1998 Winter Games where they beat Russia in the final. In the 2002 Winter Games in Salt Lake City, USA, Team Canada won the gold by defeating the host nation in the final. In Sweden, the 2002 Games are mostly remembered for an unexpected loss against Belarus in the quarter final. This was followed by a humiliating defeat at home against Czech Republic in the 2004 World Cup of Hockey. Sweden won the Olympic gold in 1994 and the World Championships in 1998, but had a hard time going all the way when all the best players were participating. This would change in 2006.

The group stage of the 2006 Olympic Hockey Tournament

The teams in Torino 2006 were divided into two groups which finished in the following way:

Group A

Czech Republic

Group B

United States

Finland and Slovakia won the groups with 5 straight victories. Notably was Switzerland’s success in group A, with a second place before nations like Canada and Czech Republic. Sweden, with players like Nicklas Lidström, Mats Sundin, Peter Forsberg and Henrik Lundqvist, finished third in group B after some rather mixed performances.


In the quarter finals, Sweden was up against Switzerland after the Three Crowns lost the last group stage game against Slovakia. This was a pretty beneficial draw after ending third in the group. The game ended 6-2 in favor of Sweden and they advanced to the semi final against Czech Republic who eliminated their rivals Slovakia. This tournament would not be based on how the teams managed to place themselves in the groups, it would be all about winning the important playoff games. Finland and Russia eliminated the North American teams, which as this time often had a great drawback from the larger European ice rinks. Both USA and Canada has become more mobile nowadays though, much thanks to the modern ice hockey which is based on agile defenders and fast forwards.

In the semifinals, Sweden got a great start against the Czechs and won rather comfortable 7-3. Finland eliminated their Eastern rivals Russia 4-0, just like they did in the quarterfinals of the 2014 Olympic Games in Sochi. The final would thus, be a showdown between the Nordic rivals: Sweden’s Three Crowns against Finland’s Lions.

In the final, Finland got the best start with an early lead. Sweden managed to both tie and take the lead, which was shortly equalized by Finland. Before the third period, the game was tied at 2-2.

The beginning of the third period is a Swedish classic: On the face off, Saku Koivu’s stick broke. Peter Forsberg rushed into the offensive zone, dropped the puck to Mats Sundin who dropped it to Nicklas Lidström who did as he had done so many times before as a captain in the Detroit Red Wings: Shot a laser beam from the blue line which found the way back in the Finnish net. 3-2 Sweden. At the end, Finland put the pressure on for an equalizer, but goalie Henrik Lundqvist stood firm and did some decisive saves. Sweden won their second Olympic Gold medal, this time with all the best players participating. A curse was lifted and our golden generation finally got to win a big tournament together! Later in 2006, Sweden became the first team to win both the Olympics and the World Hockey Championships the same year.

Triple Gold Club of Hockey

The triple gold club of hockey consists of those players who have won 1. Stanley Cup 2. Olympics and 3. World Championships. The latest addition to the club is Pavel Datsyuk, who became a member when Russia won the 2018 Olympics. When Canada won the gold in WC 2015, Sidney Crosby became the 26th member of the club. He is the only player that has been captain for his team in all three tournaments. When Sweden won their second Olympic hockey gold in the 2006 Winter Olympics, Peter Forsberg became the only player that has won the tournaments two times. Below are all the members, sorted by country. As we can see, Canada and Sweden is in a shared top position in a club that so far only has members from four countries. Finland, USA and Slovakia are trailing behind. Finland and Slovakia lack Olympic gold medals while USA haven’t won the World Championships since 1960 and the Olympics since Miracle on Ice 1980.

Sweden (9)

Tomas Jonsson
Mats Näslund
Håkan Loob
Peter Forsberg
Nicklas Lidström
Fredrik Modin
Niklas Kronwall
Henrik Zetterberg
Mikael Samuelsson

Canada (9)

Rob Blake
Joe Sakic
Brendan Shanahan
Scott Niedermayer
Chris Pronger
Erik Staal
Jonathan Toews
Patrice Bergeron
Sidney Crosby
Corey Perry

Russia (7)

Valerij Kamenski
Alexej Gusarov
Vjateslav Fetisov
Igor Larionov
Alexander Mogilny
Vladmir Malakhov
Pavel Datsyuk

Czech Republic(2)

Jaromir Jagr
Jiri Slegr

The only coach that is a member of the club is Canada’s Mike Babcock.