Which teams play in the Confederations Cup 2017 (and why?)

The year before the FIFA World Cup, the Confederations Cup is played in the host country. June 17 – July 2, 2017, the tournament is played in Russia. In this post we present the participating nations, as well with an explanation of why they are included in the Cup . The eight teams in the 2017 Confederations Cup is divided into two groups. The top two teams of each group will advance to the semifinal (28th and 29th of June). July 2nd, the final and bronze match will be played.

Confederations Cup 2017

Group A:

New Zealand

Group B:


The group stageis scheduled for 17-25 June.
The semifinals are played 28-29 June.
Final and Bronze match will be played July 2nd.

These teams participate in the Confederation Cup

Nation – Reason

Russia – They are the host country for the 2018 FIFA World Cup.

Germany – They won the 2014 FIFA World Cup.

Cameroon – They won the African Championship 2017 (CAF Africa Cup).

Australia – They won the Asian Championships 2015 (AFC Asian Cup).

Portugal – They won the European championships in 2016 (EURO 2016).

Mexico – They won CONCACAF (North American and Central American Championships), 2015.

New Zealand – They won the Oceanic Championship (OFC) 2016.

Chile – They won the South American Championships (Copa America) 2015.

There you have the tournament in a nutshell! 🙂 We are looking forward to exciting football during the summer of 2017!

Tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.